Preview of Game 2 and Women’s Origin

With the tail between their legs after their humiliating 50-6 loss in Game 1 at Townsville two weeks ago, Queensland will be ready to make a huge statement and retaliate with vengeance in Game 2 at Suncorp Stadium this Sunday night.

More Original 2
REPORT: Blues choke Maroons to claim streak
TALKING POINTS: Where does Queensland go from here?
Origin 2, as it happened: play-by-play commentary
VIDEO: The Incredible Latrell Intercept Test
VIDEO: Trbojevic’s sensational essay on Coates

After the Queensland government spent $ 8 million to buy the game from Victoria, which entered its fourth lockdown since the pandemic began last month, the Maroons not only failed to deliver, but they also got embarrassed in front of their fans in the tropics.

The players will undoubtedly have made a brutal overhaul of this game, and it will now be up to Paul Green to ensure there is no repeat in Brisbane, where they have been unbeaten against the Blues since Game 1. , 2017.

Veteran Dragons pair Andrew McCullough and Ben Hunt have been recalled, as has Raiders forward Josh Papalii, while Warriors rookie Reece Walsh has been named to make his Origin debut after playing just seven games of the NRL.

Walsh’s selection came under heavy criticism from Blues legend Phil Gould, who called the move “shameful” as he was given the task of solving the Maroons’ short-lived problems. term.

Reece walsh

(Photo by Mark Metcalfe / Getty Images)

Cowboys forward Francis Molo, who will join the Dragons next year, will be the Maroons’ other debutant as coach Paul Green looks to add some grunt to the forwards.

Harry Grant and Kalyn Ponga were both ruled out due to injury, while Xavier Coates was dropped with Valentine Holmes switching to the wing to make way for Walsh’s debut in the number one jumper.

Coates’ omission from the squad means it is the first time since 1997 that no Brisbane Broncos player has been named to the Queensland squad. That year there was the one-time Super League Tri-Series in which Broncos players were eligible for selection.

The Queensland squad for Game 2 is: Reece Walsh, Valentine Holmes, Kurt Capewell, Dane Gagai, Kyle Feldt, Cameron Munster, Daly Cherry-Evans (captain), Christian Welch, Andrew McCullough, Josh Papalii, Jai Arrow , Felise Kaufusi, Tino Fa’asuamaleaui. Exchange: Ben Hunt, Moeaki Fotuaika, David Fifita, Francis Molo. 18th man: Coen Hess. 19th man: Ronaldo Mulitalo.

In: Reece Walsh (debut), Andrew McCullough, Josh Papalii, Ben Hunt, Francis Molo.
Absent: Xavier Coates, Harry Grant (injured), AJ Brimson, Joe Ofahengaue, Jaydn Su’A.

Fresh off their biggest win of all time in Queensland, and also their biggest Origin win, New South Wales have the chance this Sunday night to wrap up the series, which will guarantee a crowd to the box office. closed COVID when they return home for Game 3 in Sydney on July 14.

In Game 1, Tom Trbojevic and Latrell Mitchell both faced off against the Maroons in Townsville, with the former scoring a hat trick and the latter enjoying his return to the side after not making the season-ending streak of Last year.

Tom Trbojevic of the Blues runs the ball

(Photo by Mark Kolbe / Getty Images)

But that didn’t stop coach Brad Fittler from having to change his squad, with Jake Trbojevic the only forced omission due to injury. In his place, Junior Paulo comes into play while Angus Crichton returns after missing Game 1 due to a suspension.

Storm forward Dale Finucane also enters the squad, with Fittler keeping his starting squad a secret until match day.

A major hoodoo against Fittler and the Blues is that not only have they not won at Suncorp Stadium since Game 1, 2017, they also haven’t won Game 2 in Brisbane since 2000. That year, they cleaned up the series with a crushing match 3 victory in Sydney.

And while they might have won Game 1 easily, it won’t mean anything if they can’t win the series. Four years ago, after winning the opener 28-4 in Brisbane, the Blues – who have named a team unchanged throughout – then lost the series after losing Games 2 and 3.

The New South Wales squad for Game 2 is: Josh Addo-Carr, Nathan Cleary (vice-captain), Damien Cook, Angus Crichton, Dale Finucane, Campbell Graham, Payne Haas, Apisai Koroisau, Jarome Luai , Liam Martin, Latrell Mitchell, Cameron Murray, Junior Paulo, Daniel Saifiti, Tariq Sims, James Tedesco (captain), Brian To’o, Tom Trbojevic, Jack Wighton, Isaah Yeo.

In: Junior Paulo, Angus Crichton, Dale Finucane.
Absent: Jake Trbojevic (injured).

Everything is there for New South Wales to win the series with a resounding victory in Brisbane on Sunday night, while for Queensland it will be redemption as they attempt to strike back with force after their Game 1 humiliation with a victory at their traditional Brisbane. home.

A Blues victory will see the series under lockdown, otherwise a Maroons victory will see the series decided at Stadium Australia in Sydney on July 14.

Ahead of the second Origin Men game on Sunday night, the Origin Women will be played at Sunshine Coast Stadium on Friday night, with the Maroons – led by Ali Brigginshaw – to defend the shield they won last November.

Ali Brigginshaw of the Maroons directs the ball

(Photo by Mark Kolbe / Getty Images)

The Maroons won last year’s stand-alone game by 24-18, after the scores were tied at six at halftime with eighth Tarryn Aiken winning the Nellie Doherty medal for being the best on the field.

New South Wales will again be led by Kezie Apps, who led his team to victories at the North Sydney Oval in 2018 and 2019, but will have to regain the shield the hard way with the single game played on the Sunshine Coast for the second year in a row.

Apps aside, the Blues will also have two of the best centers in women’s football, Jessica Sergis and Isabelle Kelly, lined up next to each other, while Botille Vette-Welsh will start at the back.

This will be the fourth game to be played under the State of Origin banner, with previous games dating back to 1999 being played under the Women’s Interstate Challenge banner, in which the Maroons were primarily the top team.

In a concept first, the two teams will be coached by women, with Tahnee Norris and Kylie Hilder taking over the Queensland and New South Wales teams respectively from Jason Hetherington and Andy Patmore.

Origin side of Queensland women: Tamika Upton, Shenae Ciesiolka, Lauren Brown, Julia Robinson, Karina Brown, Tarryn Aiken, Zahara Temara, Chelsea Lenarduzzi, Destiny Brill, Shannon Mato, Tazmin Gray, Tiana Raftstrand-Smith, Ali Brigginshaw (captain) . Exchange: Romy Teitzel, Natassja Purontakanen, Shaniah Power, Brianna Clark, Talisha Harden, Rona Peters. Coach: Tahnee Norris.

Female Origin side of New South Wales: Botille Vette-Welsh, Yasmin Meakes, Jessica Sergis, Isabelle Kelly, Tiana Penitani, Corban Baxter, Maddie Studdon, Simaima Taufa, Keeley Davis, Millie Boyle, Kezie Apps (captain), Sarah Togatuki , Hannah Southwell. Exchange: Quincy Dodd, Filomina Hanisi, Kennedy Cherrington, Holli Wheeler, Brydie Parker, Renee Targett. Coach: Kylie Hilder.

So it’s going to be a huge weekend for Queensland Origin fans, with their women’s team eager to defend the shield they won last year, and the men’s team desperate to regain some respect and equalize. the series before Game 3 at Stadium Australia in Sydney.

Add a Comment