Captain Eoin Morgan among nine returning for T20I series

Eoin Morgan and England teammate Jos Buttler to travel to UAE for IPL 13

Eoin Morgan (right) has joined the England squad after isolation, while teammate Jos Buttler is also back after a calf injury.
Image Credit: AP

London: England’s white ball captain Eoin Morgan is among nine premier players included in the squad for the T20I series against Pakistan from July 16 at Trent Bridge.

The nine players, who were self-isolating following the release of seven positive cases from their camp following the T20I series against Sri Lanka, were included in the squad after fulfilling the conditions. Jos Buttler, who was treating a calf injury suffered in the Sri Lanka series, was also included.

Paul Collingwood will oversee the team as head coach with Chris Silverwood taking a break. Regular players absent from the squad that played against Sri Lanka are Chris Woakes, Sam Curran, Mark Wood, Liam Dawson and Sam Billings.

Saqib Mahmood, Lewis Gregory and Matt Parkinson were recognized for their performances in the ODI Series against Pakistan with invitations to the T20I squad. Among the trio, Mahmood and Gregory have enjoyed great success in the recent ODI series.

Right-arm racer Mahmood was named player of the series in recent ODIs after claiming nine wickets at an average of 13.66.

Gregory, the all-rounder, has made vital contributions with bat and ball in the series, including a player of the match in Game 2 at Lord’s. On Tuesday, Gregory hit a 77 of 69 crucial balls at Edgbaston, propelling England to chase 332 and complete a series of clean sweeps over Pakistan.

Ben Stokes, captain of England’s makeshift team ODI, which won the series 3-0 against Pakistan, rested for the test series against India in August.

Team: Eoin Morgan (captain), Moeen Ali, Jonny Bairstow, Jake Ball, Tom Banton, Jos Buttler, Tom Curran, Lewis Gregory, Chris Jordan, Liam Livingstone, Saqib Mahmood, Dawid Malan, Matt Parkinson, Adil Rashid, Jason Roy and David Willey .

Add a Comment