Wallabies make 8 changes for the French decision maker

Australia coach Dave rennie made eight changes Thursday to his starting lineup for the third test against France, confident that the new-look team can land the decision maker.

The bruising streak is well placed after two close games that went on the wire, with the Wallabies edging first in Brisbane 23-21 before a brave France rebounded in Melbourne 28-26.

Having kept the same 23s for those two clashes in just six days, Rennie had to either take out a top-notch team or rest tired players.

He chose the latter, choosing to give others a chance to impress at Suncorp Stadium in Brisbane on Saturday ahead of the next rugby championship, where New Zealand, South Africa and Argentina await.

Rennie had hinted at changes in the Melbourne suite, saying the new faces would be “fresh and full of beans”.

“We always knew with the series lineup against a tough French team, that it would take a full team effort and we will see it on Saturday night,” he said.

“We were disappointed with the result in Melbourne and we will rectify that with more precision and composure in the key moments at Suncorp Stadium.

“As always, we have chosen a team that has earned the right to wear the gold jersey and we have no doubts that they will do the job in Brisbane.”

He selected a young team, with eight of the 15 players playing 10 tests or less.

Reds pair Tate McDermott and Brumbies Darcy Swain and Len Ikitau will make their first starts, while Waratahs executor Lachlan Swinton will start his first test this year.

Veteran loose pillar James Slipper lines up for his 103rd test alongside first-place Brandon Paenga-Amosa, the same combination used in all three games, with Allan Alaalatoa called up to the tight-headed pillar.

Swain will team up with Lukhan Salakaia-Loto in second row, while Isi Naisarani will start in eighth row for the first time since the 2019 World Cup quarter-finals, with skipper Michael Hooper and Swinton.

Scrum-half McDermott succeeds Jake Gordon to team up with hitting machine Noah Lolesio in the halves, with Ikitau and Hunter Paisami forming the center pair.

Filipo Daugunu and the always dangerous Marika Koroibete add speed on the wings with Tom Banks again at the rear.

With five of Tuesday’s starters on the bench, winger Tom Wright and No.8 Harry Wilson have been left out of the 23 altogether.



15 Tom Banks, 14 Filipo Daugunu, 13 Len Ikitau, 12 Hunter Paisami, 11 Marika Koroibete, 10 Noah Lolesio, 9 Tate McDermott, 8 Isi Naisarani, 7 Michael Hooper (captain), 6 Lachlan Swinton, 5 Lukhan Salakaia-Loto, 4 Darcy Swain, 3 Allan Alaalatoa, 2 Brandon Paenga-Amosa, 1 James Slipper

Alternates: 16 Jordan Uelese, 17 Angus Bell, 18 Taniela Tupou, 19 Matt Philip, 20 Rob Valetini, 21 Jake Gordon, 22 Matt To’omua, 23 Reece Hodge


To be determined

Source: News24

Add a Comment