African basketball league

The constitution of the pools for the 2nd edition of the Basketball Africa League is unveiled

A total of 26 teams often compete in this first phase of the Basketball Africa League qualifiers. They are in fact divided into two divisions: East and West and which each make up three pools of 3 selections.

Groups A, B, C, D and E will notably play their qualifiers from October 26 to 31 in Guinea. On the other hand, Pool F will be based in Johannesburg. It will therefore group together the equipment for Zone 6 of FIBA. Cape Town Tigers (South Africa), Ferroviario da Beira (Mozambique) are included. The tournament will be held October 19-24.

A second skimming planned

At the end of this phase, the first two teams of each group will be qualified. This time it’s for the qualifying tournaments. Sixteen teams coming out of the playoffs will take part in this phase in order to participate in the Basketball Africa League. They will be divided into two tournaments of eight clubs each. And the eight teams will be broken down into two pools of four.

These qualifications for the Basketball Africa League concern will go to the last 6 qualifiers. These qualified then join the champions of Senegal, Angola, Tunisia, Morocco, Nigeria and Egypt. The final stages of the BAL bring together only 12 clubs. Zamalek (Egypt) won the first edition last May.


Composition of groups

West Division: qualifiers (October 26-31) in Guinea

Pool A: AS Police (MLI), Boufarik (ALG), Predio Basket (CPV), SLAC (GUI).

Pool B: Académie d’Or des Archers (BF), Aspac (Benin), AS Nigelec (NIG), SOA (CI)

Pool C: CB Mazembe (COD), Armed Forces and Police (Cameroon), Malabo Kings (GEQ), Tondema (CAF), Gabon (club to be determined)

East Division: qualifiers (October 26-31) in Guinea

Pool D: Ascut (MAD), Cobra Sport (SSD), Hawassa City (ETH), Ulinzi Warriors (KEN)

Pool E: Bravehearts (MLWI), City Oilers (OUG), Kurasini Heats (TZA), New Stars (BUR)

Pool F: qualifiers (October 19-24) in Johannesburg

Cape Town Tigers (RSA), Ferroviario da Beira (Mozambique), Matero Magic (ZAM), Mercenaries (ZIM) and Roche Bois Warriors (MRT)

Add a Comment